I went banaNAS
- Google nagged me into this, along with every other enshittified cloud provider dealer.
- For about a year, my phone warned me that the account was nearly full, so I migrated the picture backups to a Nextcloud instance and freed the space, at which point the nagging switched to reminding me that backups were turned off.
- Gmail does the same and provides helpful "Upgrade" buttons here and there.
Unverified
- Google nagged me into this, along with every other enshittified cloud provider dealer.
- For about a year, my phone warned me that the account was nearly full, so I migrated the picture backups to a Nextcloud instance and freed the space, at which point the nagging switched to reminding me that backups were turned off.
- Gmail does the same and provides helpful "Upgrade" buttons here and there.
Sources: Asmat